Just Say ‘I Love You” Before It’s Too Late

When you were still young and innocent,

still uncertain of the world’s impediment.

You look up to them with great endearment.

As if without them, life will be full of torment.

 

Do you remember your first bike ride?

It was your Dad who taught you how to stride.

He guided you all the way, he didn’t leave your side.

Until he heard, “I can bike without being terrified!”

 

How about your first day of school?

When you thought all teachers are cruel.

You asked your mom just to sit beside your stool

Until finally you can follow the classroom rule!

 

Now that you are already old enough,

You prefer to be with your friends with a lot of “stuff”.

You think that with your parent’s, you are handcuffed,

Then you tried to enjoy life until it finally gets rough.

 

You left home and literally live on your own.

Enjoyed life; and their counsel, you condoned.

Until you reached life’s professional milestone,

But emptiness in your heart you have sown.

 

You thought that money could solve that emptiness.

Worldly friends, vices, and a lot of madness;

Then you realized, you’re alone in great distress;

Without your friends, and your life’s a real mess!

 

It has been years since you left their side,

You remembered your parents’ love alongside,

Until finally, you come home as you decide

To finally be at your dear parents’ side.

 

As you walk down the porch of your parents’ gate,

You reminisce memories of your childhood’s state,

Then you saw your parents, with their smile so appropriate

You ran towards them! Hug them, with a hug so intimate!

 

Their tears fell as they utter, “Child, you are not that late,

now that you’re home,  let’s start with a clean slate.”

My tears also fell, as I say, “Sorry if I procrastinate,

But first I want to say I love you before it’s too late.”

About Audrey

I am not a typical “girl-next-door”, But I am striving to be a woman of valor. I cannot turn the heads of many people, But I can touch their lives and still be humble. To please my Creator, that is my main goal, To let Him mold me, for me to fit in my role. My other wish is to have a pure soul, And to have a zealous heart like a burning coal. Strength and honor must be my clothing, Purity and honesty, for me is an important thing. To be a woman of principles, that’s what I’m preparing, To make God proud of me as I keep on dazzling. I may not be as perfect as what I want to be, A soldier in the battle that is what I can see. I’ll keep on fighting to solve life’s mystery, To win the battle is the best reward for me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Just Say ‘I Love You” Before It’s Too Late

  1. prakash says:

    You need to get a “Share” button here. This is worth sharing a thousand times..

  2. littlegumiho10 says:

    It is so awesome!!!

    By the way this is cian ma’am……

  3. Ainee says:

    Nice poem ate Audrey! I was planning to write an article about saying ‘I love you’ before it’s too late but I think you wrote ahead na…hehehe. I like your poem more. It’s so nice!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

