Looking Back

I was organizing my files earlier when I came across some of my college mementos. It was such a happy experience for me to look at some of the pictures and remember the bitter-sweet experience of college life. Looking back, I realized that amidst all the hurdles of school, college life is fun after all !

From jittery demonstration moments, trips to the mall, to relaxing times in the patio, all those things are truly worth remembering.  Since we were in block section from second year to fourth year, we have grown close to one another.

One of the most awaited moments in our school is the Torch Ceremony. It is the time when third year and fourth year students are all dressed in traditional balintawak, maria clara and barong. It is almost a century-long tradition of turning over the responsibilities of the graduating students to the third year people.

I also came across my diploma, some medals, and even the invitation for the Gawad Parangal.  Since my Alma Mater produces almost a thousand graduates each year, they set a special ceremony to recognize the achievers of the graduating batch. Parents of the achievers are being called and a special program is being prepared. After I received my medal that time, I was tasked to sing the thank you song in honor of our dear parents. I sang “Wind Beneath My Wings”. Almost everybody in the auditorium was crying (tears of joy). I am singing since I was five but I find it more difficult since I was trying to held back my tears – especially, after I saw that my mom was also crying. With God’s help, I was able to sing that song nicely.

Graduation Ceremony came a day after the Gawad Parangal. It was a tiring yet a very memorable experience.

All the hard-work and sacrifices of being a student suddenly turned into a blissful feeling! Of course I know that I could not take credit of whatever I achieved since I know that all things was made possible by God. I am genuinely grateful for His guidance, mercy, and grace. In addition to that, I felt so happy to see my parents smiling that day, knowing that somehow, I made them proud.

About Audrey

I am not a typical “girl-next-door”, But I am striving to be a woman of valor. I cannot turn the heads of many people, But I can touch their lives and still be humble. To please my Creator, that is my main goal, To let Him mold me, for me to fit in my role. My other wish is to have a pure soul, And to have a zealous heart like a burning coal. Strength and honor must be my clothing, Purity and honesty, for me is an important thing. To be a woman of principles, that’s what I’m preparing, To make God proud of me as I keep on dazzling. I may not be as perfect as what I want to be, A soldier in the battle that is what I can see. I’ll keep on fighting to solve life’s mystery, To win the battle is the best reward for me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Looking Back

  1. Audrey says:

    Thank you Wendy! 🙂

  2. erica dela cruz says:

    It’s really nice and nostalgic to go back and reminisce especially if those memories were close to your heart..looking at those pictures and reading your blogs,I also missed our Alma matter..

    • Audrey says:

      Hi Erica! It was nice hearing from you. It is truly a rewarding experience to be part of our University. 🙂 We share the same sentiments especially when I would browse on my college pictures. Thank you for taking time to read my blogs. It always inspires me whenever I could get feedback from people who reads my blog. 🙂

  3. Wendy says:

    Very nice.

Leave a Reply

