Career Shift

I wasn’t able to write here for quite sometime. Yeah, I’ve been quite busy lately. After my Masteral class last summer and being confined in the hospital for days, I then had a career shift from the academe to the senate. So it took me quite sometime to adjust from the physical work of being an educator to the legislative work here in the office.

Let me give you a flash back…

Right after my college graduation, I was hired in the academe where I taught for three meaningful years. I was a grade school teacher back then and I enjoyed being with kids – teaching them not just classroom lessons but lessons about life as well. My co-teachers played an important role that helped me adjust in the academic work-world.  My superiors were supportive of me as I blossomed into being an academician. I had the opportunity to explore and travel as I gave seminars to different educators nationwide. Now, as I look back with a smile, I am grateful for the experiences that I had, including students that made me smile and made me sigh.

One phone call changed everything. I was in the graduate school then when my phone rang. “Hello! This is from the Senate of the Philippines. The Deputy Secretary wants to speak with you. You are scheduled for an interview at 3pm on May 2, 2012.” During that time, the impeachment proceedings was the only relevant idea that I could directly associate in the Senate. After I composed myself from being baffled, I confirmed the appointment.

I had a mind-boggling examination on the day of the interview. I tried to finish my examination in the soonest time possible then I rushed to ride a jeep. Unfortunately, Manila traffic seemed not to be cooperating so I rode the LRT to Gil Puyat then I called a cab and asked the driver to rush to the Senate. On the way, my mind was filled with a lot of thoughts.

As I entered the Senate, I was thinking, “What does the Deputy Secretary look like?” I was imagining a six-footer old grumpy guy, wearing a barong who has the stereotype bass voice. Yeah, I was expecting the worst – trying to condition my mind not to be intimidated. As I entered the office, Miss Nendith welcomed me with a smile. Her accomodating disposition lessened the tension.  She ushered me to the boardroom. I waited for about 30 minutes then eventually, I was informed that the Deputy Secretary is already waiting for me. I took a deep breath then took my steps towards the office of the Deputy Secretary.

My anxiety turned to ease and composure when I set sight of the Deputy Secretary. He was not as old as I imagined and he is cheerful and accomodating. The interview was not as rigid as I thought. Rather, the interview turned out to be a natural conversation. What a relief!

Right now, I am a week old in this job and I am enjoying it a lot. Although I am still in the adjustment period, I am so eager to learn and I appreciate the office a lot!

Happy! Just Happy!

About Audrey

I am not a typical “girl-next-door”, But I am striving to be a woman of valor. I cannot turn the heads of many people, But I can touch their lives and still be humble. To please my Creator, that is my main goal, To let Him mold me, for me to fit in my role. My other wish is to have a pure soul, And to have a zealous heart like a burning coal. Strength and honor must be my clothing, Purity and honesty, for me is an important thing. To be a woman of principles, that’s what I’m preparing, To make God proud of me as I keep on dazzling. I may not be as perfect as what I want to be, A soldier in the battle that is what I can see. I’ll keep on fighting to solve life’s mystery, To win the battle is the best reward for me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Career Shift

  1. Audrey says:

    Hi Ate Janee!
    Thank you for being so supportive. Yes, we have some catching up to do. I sent you a message. =)

  2. Audrey says:

    Tito Ding and Tita Nida,
    Thank you so much for your encouragement. Looking forward to spend time with you!

  3. Janice Gonzales says:

    As I said previously, I am equally as happy as you! 😀 Do your best and learn whatever lessons you’ll learn from that job. I’m always here to be your supportive friend, sister.

    PS – Can you tell what does a legislative staff do? 😛 I wish to know. lol.

  4. Hi Audrey,
    CONGRATULATIONS for your new career and we are happy for your BLESSINGS. Deut. 28:2 And all these blessings shall come upon you and overtake you, because you obey the voice of the LORD your God:
    Deu 28:3 “Blessed shall you be in the city, and blessed shall you be in the country.
    Pro 10:3 The LORD will not allow the righteous soul to famish, But He casts away the desire of the wicked.
    Pro 10:4 He who has a slack hand becomes poor, But the hand of the diligent makes rich.
    Pro 10:22 The blessing of the LORD makes one rich, And He adds no sorrow with it.
    Now you can count your blessings and learn from trials and tests,
    Ding&Nida

Leave a Reply

