Meet My Sister-Friend!

I vividly remember the first time that we met. It was actually Kuya Seph (her husband) who first talked to me. Then, a pleasant lady approached us. She looks Filipina but she was speaking in straight English. She was introduced to me as Kuya Seph’s wife. I thought that she doesn’t understand Filipino so I talked to her in English. After few days of conversing in English, I heard her speak in Filipino. I told her, “Marunong ka palang mag-Tagalog” she was quite surprised as she answered me back, “Marunong ka din mag-Tagalog? Sabi kasi ni Seph sa akin, English speaking ka daw!” Then I told her, “Huh? Akala ko ikaw ang English speaking kaya kinakausap din kita in English!” Hahaha! We both had a good laugh as we discovered how naïve we were! Up to this day, we still laugh as we reminisce that first encounter.  🙂

I was surprised how suddenly we became comfortable with each other. Ate Janee is very pleasant. It was actually to her credit why we became close. She was the first one to reach out to me. She invited me out to join her group in the memorable “Red Orange” in Baguio City. It was actually the very first time that we talked for hours. Without my knowledge, they invited me actually to be in the hot sit where everybody threw questions to me! Hahaha!

Ate Janee and I had an instant bonding! We were just amazed how we enjoyed each others company.  She knows almost everything about me – even the guys that I am dating. I fondly call her as my accountability partner. Since she is the married one, she gives me pieces of advice even in my dating stage and I must admit that she helped me a lot! I am always labeled as “manhid” so my Ate Janee would always come to the rescue – yeah! She is the one who interprets things for me. I remembered one time that she already exasperated, “Audrey! Di lahat ng guys, friendship lang ang gusto!” I will then reason out, “Eh yun naman kasi ang sabi nya.” She will then say, “Hay naku! Audrey, Audrey, Audrey!!!” Then she will explain things to me and make complicated things simple for me to understand. Whenever I go to double dates, I enjoyed spending it with Ate Janee and Kuya Seph!

I would say that we complement each other. When I am weak, she is strong and vice versa. I have a strong personality so she helped me to tone it down. On the other hand, according to her, I helped her improved her self-confidence. There were a lot of times that we would spend hours chatting about a lot of topics – anything under the sun.

We also have a lot of things in common.

First of all, we both love to eat… Food, Food, FOOD!!!

We also love goofing around and having fun, fun, fun!!!

We both love flowers. In fact, she is into gardening now! As for me, I am not gifted with a green thumb but fresh flowers could make my day extra special.

We also love and appreciate nature!

We both are into cooking… She bakes very well! For the baking part – I am her avid fan and one of her official tasters!

She plays the piano while I sing 🙂

Those are just some of the things that we enjoyed doing. I am just grateful that God blessed me with such a fine sister-friend. 🙂

Photos by: Daniel Osillos, Joseph Dela Cruz, and Precious So

About Audrey

I am not a typical “girl-next-door”, But I am striving to be a woman of valor. I cannot turn the heads of many people, But I can touch their lives and still be humble. To please my Creator, that is my main goal, To let Him mold me, for me to fit in my role. My other wish is to have a pure soul, And to have a zealous heart like a burning coal. Strength and honor must be my clothing, Purity and honesty, for me is an important thing. To be a woman of principles, that’s what I’m preparing, To make God proud of me as I keep on dazzling. I may not be as perfect as what I want to be, A soldier in the battle that is what I can see. I’ll keep on fighting to solve life’s mystery, To win the battle is the best reward for me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Meet My Sister-Friend!

  1. Janee says:

    Hello Audrey,

    Thank you for considering me as your closest friend. The way you described our friendship is very touching and humbling at the same time. You are a writer of rare talent, you have an incredible ability to express an emotion in poems and simple words. I don’t need to be too intelligent to get the whole picture 😛 I remember we’ve whispered our deepest secrets, only sisters could share. There are many common interests we share, from nature appreciation, food indulging, choices of music, to choosing “standards”.

    You are a wonderful person. You have brought great happiness to many people (including me) most esp to your students. You have so many beautiful qualities both physical and spiritual. So whether we are together or we are far apart.. you’ll always be my sister-friend and forever in my heart. Praying for you always.

    • Audrey says:

      Awww… thank you Ate Janee for those kind words. I really appreciate it! I am not a professional writer but I do enjoy writing. I am just grateful that it is being appreciated by people like you. 🙂 Take care! Talk to you soon… 🙂

  2. That’s nice Audrey. ) (Trying to figure out if I know her…I don’t think I do.)

Leave a Reply

