Happiness and Fitness

I was reading the newspaper this morning when I came across the article of Mitch Felipe Mendoza in the Philippine Daily Inquirer entitled, “Happiness plays a major role in one’s health and fitness”.  She cited in her article that although lots of people are now into fitness and healthy lifestyle, many are not yet ready to start a physical wellness program because they lack the motivation, inspiration and positive feelings to initiate change. It came as a resounding “OUCH!” to me as I started humming the line “I need inspiration… not just another negotiation” hehe! 🙂 She further discussed the latest campaign of IDEA Health and Fitness Community. According to the study of IDEA, positive well-being should be incorporated into healthcare and fitness programs worldwide. According to this new campaign, we should “exercise our happiness”. Interesting! This is the first time I heard of it and it sounds very logical. According to Mendoza, our current emotional state definitely affects how we can strive to improve ourselves (through physical activities and healthy eating for improved physical health), and how we can give more love and service to the people around us (inspire others to improve their lifestyle). She further gave some pointers which I find helpful:

  • Define your happiness and work on it.
  • Focus on the positives rather than your flaws, then move one.
  • Count your blessings and opportunities
  • Nourish relationships
  • Learn from your shortcomings and always be ready to get up and start again

I will definitely adopt these pointers but I would like to add one more on the list. Which is: Strive to draw closer to God each day – set Him as your priority. I believe that it should be the anchor of all the things that we will be doing may it be health, education, career, etc. Through it, we could define what real happiness is. Then focus on the positivities rather than your flaws. Of course it doesn’t mean that we should just ignore our flaws. I personally am more tolerant to others rather than myself. I believe that “It is easier for me to work on correcting my flaws rather than correcting the flaws of other people”. I prefer to compete with myself rather than competing with others. I try not to compare myself with others because I know that each one of us has his/her own set of strengths and weaknesses.  Through that, we could count our blessings and each opportunity that would surprise us each day. It is always nice to be grateful on what we have and what God blessed us with. It gives us the ‘positive vibes’ we constantly need as we face each day. My friends once told me that I am a type of person who is easy to please. Simple things in life could definitely make me happy. A flower could brighten up my day, and believe me; a bar of chocolates handed to me would suddenly excite me! 🙂

I value relationships. I value my relationship with God, then with my family, and with my friends. I love them so dearly! But of course, in any relationships, a person should know the priorities. My relationship with God is my priority. He is the reason why I live. Family comes next. I am blessed with close family and relative ties. Other people my age would prefer renting their own flat and being independent. I prefer going home each day and living with my family. I also value my friends. Although I also know that in order for friendships to be nourished, there should be a mutual pact between and among friends. As what a familiar adage goes, “It takes two to Tango”.

Lastly, let us talk about shortcomings. Oh, I have plenty of them! But as much as possible, I try to learn from my shortcomings, I work on my weaknesses. There are times when I stumble and fall but eventually, God would give me the strength to stand again.

Happiness is a state of mind – it is an art of seeing things in different light. So what if I do not have a super model body – at least I am healthy and I can nicely wear the clothes that I wanted to wear. So what if I do not have my own car – at least my Dad is kind enough to give me a ride everyday. There are a lot of reasons to be happy! You just have to dig deeper to unearthen the wealth of happiness that you have.

Positive vibes everyone! 🙂

pictures from quotesbuddy.com and positivemotivation.net

About Audrey

I am not a typical “girl-next-door”, But I am striving to be a woman of valor. I cannot turn the heads of many people, But I can touch their lives and still be humble. To please my Creator, that is my main goal, To let Him mold me, for me to fit in my role. My other wish is to have a pure soul, And to have a zealous heart like a burning coal. Strength and honor must be my clothing, Purity and honesty, for me is an important thing. To be a woman of principles, that’s what I’m preparing, To make God proud of me as I keep on dazzling. I may not be as perfect as what I want to be, A soldier in the battle that is what I can see. I’ll keep on fighting to solve life’s mystery, To win the battle is the best reward for me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happiness and Fitness

  1. marikit says:

    Audrey, this is an inspiring blog. Continue to be an encourager! I am praying for you as well. I MISS YOU!

  2. marikit says:

    Reblogged this on Little Miss Marikit and commented:
    Audrey said well

Leave a Reply

