Revisiting History – A Trip to Fort Santiago

Few months ago, I had the opportunity to spend time with the multi-awarded Filipino historian Dr. Ambeth R. Ocampo in Dipolog City. He is gifted with the ability share important details in history – without him knowing, he was able to persuade me to visit historical places and treasure history. Contrary to my initial experience with some of my history teachers, Dr. Ocampo made history so interesting.

As soon as I arrived in Manila, I persuaded my family to visit Fort Santiago.

As I entered the gate of Fort Santiago, I noticed the intricate details of its citadel, the beautiful park, and the kalesa that adds melancholy to the ambiance.

Fort Santiago served as formidable prison where torture is not unusual.

Jose Rizal was imprisoned here two months before his execution.

The Noli Metangere

Huling Paalam

The lamp where Rizal hid his last poem “Mi Ultimo Adios”

Personal things of Rizal. I noticed the dumb bell and the description states “Rizal knows that he has a weak body so he did things to improve his health and strength”.

There is a big portrait of Osei-san inside the museum. O Sei San, a Japanese samurai’s daughter taught Rizal the Japanese art of painting known as su-mie. She also helped Rizal improve his knowledge of Japanese language. If Rizal was a man without a patriotic mission, he would have married this lovely and intelligent woman and lived a stable and happy life with her in Japan because Spanish legation there offered him a lucrative job.

The assembly place before the execution of Rizal.

The footprints show the path taken by Jose Rizal from his dungeon in Fort Santiago to his final execution place at Bagumbayan in Rizal Park.

There are times that we need to look back and revisit our history in order for us to have a clearer view of the future.

About Audrey

I am not a typical “girl-next-door”, But I am striving to be a woman of valor. I cannot turn the heads of many people, But I can touch their lives and still be humble. To please my Creator, that is my main goal, To let Him mold me, for me to fit in my role. My other wish is to have a pure soul, And to have a zealous heart like a burning coal. Strength and honor must be my clothing, Purity and honesty, for me is an important thing. To be a woman of principles, that’s what I’m preparing, To make God proud of me as I keep on dazzling. I may not be as perfect as what I want to be, A soldier in the battle that is what I can see. I’ll keep on fighting to solve life’s mystery, To win the battle is the best reward for me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Revisiting History – A Trip to Fort Santiago

  1. Audrey says:

    Hahaha! Thank you. It is good to know that you are interested to learn more about the National Hero of the Filipinos.

  2. prakash says:

    31 days ago, i found this group: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/RP-Rizal/ Perhaps, you can check it out, and share your thoughts there 🙂 Haven’t gotten to ordering the book yet; thanks for the recommendation! I will eventually have to get a copy from either Amazon.com or KabayanCentral.com 😀

  3. viel Ü says:

    wow! Parang naka-tour na din ako ah.. Thank you so much for sharing your experience in Dipolog City, ate Audrey. I hope I can go there also… with my family 🙂

  4. prakash says:

    You have walked where this great man had once been. Being a person not very familiar with many specifics of Philippine history, it is good to see through images where José Rizal spent his last days. I had been reading about his life and reflecting on his works and accomplishments lately. And so, these pictures do add some meaning to it. Babatunde!!

    • Audrey says:

      If you want to read more about Rizal, I would recommend Ambeth Ocampo’s books. I am currently reading “Rizal without the Overcoat”

Leave a Reply

