What Kind of Quality Do You Reflect?

Last week, I visited the Academe with a friend who also used to work there. Students ran to me and hug me as soon as I entered the building. A former student then came to me and said, “Teacher, I feel blessed to become your student. I look up to you because you are beautiful in everyway.” I smiled and sincerely thanked the student for her kind words. I know that students generally feel that way with their teachers because I was once a student. However, that statement from my former student flashed back when I encountered these words from the article that I read last weekend: “Your conduct, words, and appearance reflect a certain quality – good or bad – to those around you. Based on these overall factors, others will and do form opinions about you. What quality do you reflect?”

CONDUCT

Oxford Dictionary defines it as “the manner of which the person behaves”. I admire those who know how to carry themselves well – even under pressure. I personally believe that conduct reflects the kind of character a person has. Character is who you are even if no one is looking or checking on you. I received this counsel from an elderly person years ago, “You must stand firm and carry yourself with dignity and honor, so others can look up to you.”

A person who assumes negative things or those who flares up under pressure turns me off. At the same time, naïve person who are working slowly and calmly when everybody else in the room is in a hurry also sends negative vibes. There should be a right balance.

There are times when the way you conduct yourself also reflects your self-image as a person. How do you describe yourself? Do you feel confident or do you often feel shy, nervous, and inhibited? How do you handle uncomfortable situations? Confidence is simply giving your all in whatever situation you encounter. It is being positive about your ability to perform a task or achieve a goal. Through confidence, people achieve their goals others never thought they could. Often, such assurance is the difference between failure and success. Of course, I believe that in order for a person to become successful in life, he/she must receive God’s blessing. At the same time, blessings will not be served in a silver platter, you also have to do your share and work for it.

The way you conduct yourself in different situations is very important. When you would participate in a boodle-fight, of course you should not be looking for utensils and ceramic plates. At the same time, if you are in a fine dining or a gala night, you should also conduct yourself well based on the occasion.

There are times when you could fake how you conduct yourself – may it be in a specific even or just a certain situation. In time, person around you will know who you really are. I also have my share of experience. Although I know that I still have a long way to go, I am grateful that I was able to receive counsels and trainings that somehow strengthened my character, confidence, and conduct. Ofcourse, negative people will always be around. One thing I learned in dealing with them is – know when to listen to them and know when NOT to listen to them; know when to explain yourself and know when to DISMISS them from your thoughts. You could always choose how you will react in any situation. You can always choose the quality that you would reflect in every situation.

WORDS

You could tell a lot about a person by the way he/she talks. That is one of the rationale why companies are conducting job interviews even though a person seemed to be qualified for the position. Interviews is one of the factors that affects the decision making process when hiring an employee. I used to interview teacher applicant for certain positions and based from my experience, I could somehow have a glimpse on the kind of personality the applicant possesses. There are applicants who portrayed to be ‘cream of the crop’ yet once you talk to them, you would realize that they lack substance. On the other hand, there are applicants who could handle themselves well, even though they are nervous, they are still poised and confident and most of all, they could answer your questions with eloquence.

Same thing in life. You could tell a lot about a person by the way he/she speaks – by the choice of words. A gossip-oriented person has a different choice of words compared to a professional person. An optimistic person has a different diction compared to a pessimistic person.

At the end of every conversation, what quality of words do you reflect? Is it of high quality or low quality? Whenever you send a text message or email someone, what kind of words would you reflect? Is it of high quality or low quality?

APPEARANCE

HYGIENE – Having a good hygiene is very important. If a person could not manage himself/herself well, how could he/she manage others? Maintaining proper hygiene would give you good health and good outlook in life.

CLOTHES – Your choice of clothes, style, and accessories could also tell something about yourself. That is why in a personality development class, they will teach you what kind of clothes to wear for specific occasions. This is just very basic but sometimes, people still do not get it. Party clothes should not be worn in the office (unless you have an office function or gala night), jeans should not be worn while swimming in the beach, etc. I would just laugh when girls who are wearing ‘short-shorts’ and tanky top would be furious when a guy disrespects them. I always believe that girls must dress modestly and appropriately. The way you dress would command respect.

ACCESSORIES – Your accessories must match your dress, your style, and the occasion. Diamonds and expensive jewelry and must be reserved for formal events rather than wearing it in the wet market while buying fish. At the same time, if you are wearing gold earrings, do not wear silver necklace. That is an eye-sore! You should choose your accessories carefully. They should serve to ‘accessorize’ your outfit and not to destroy it.

DISPOSITION – You might be wearing the most elegant gown with the most expensive jewelry but your disposition as a person might ruin the entire package. It is very important for a person to have a pleasant disposition. A smile could not just make you feel and look better – it could also make people around you feel happier. Positive outlook in life also contributes to a pleasant disposition.

With all these being said, let us go back to the question, What Kind of Quality Do You Reflect?

It is better to look at ourselves first rather than pointing our soiled fingers to others.

 

 

 

About Audrey

I am not a typical “girl-next-door”, But I am striving to be a woman of valor. I cannot turn the heads of many people, But I can touch their lives and still be humble. To please my Creator, that is my main goal, To let Him mold me, for me to fit in my role. My other wish is to have a pure soul, And to have a zealous heart like a burning coal. Strength and honor must be my clothing, Purity and honesty, for me is an important thing. To be a woman of principles, that’s what I’m preparing, To make God proud of me as I keep on dazzling. I may not be as perfect as what I want to be, A soldier in the battle that is what I can see. I’ll keep on fighting to solve life’s mystery, To win the battle is the best reward for me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Kind of Quality Do You Reflect?

  1. prakash says:

    God has his way of speaking to us, reminding us time and again on the more important facets of our lives, how we should maintain them in order to keep our lives in order, no matter how young or old we may be in life and its experiences 🙂 Good points and explanations in your article.

    I’m gonna share this article, hoping that others can benefit from it, reflect on themselves and ponder, as i did.. My God continue to bless you, and the fruit of your labor (Psalm 128:2)!

Leave a Reply

