Run in the Rain

I entered the world of running few months ago. After my first run, pain from my different body parts was felt. My leg muscles and even my abdominal muscles kept bothering me for days. So when I registered for Run United Run Rio, I told myself – here we go again! Prepare for the pain. 🙂

It was raining when I arrived in the venue. I waited in Fitness First for my companions since I was the one who arrived first (early bird!). That gave me the time to contemplate whether I will push through with the run or would just go home. I am scheduled to sing the following day and I am quite concerned for my voice. Since I was already in the venue, I decided to push through. We did the usual warm-up, then, (bang!) the gunfire signaled the start of the Run United Run Rio Trilogy 3.

It was the first time that I ran under the rain. The advantages – it was not hot and I did not get get sunburn afterwards. The disadvantages – it was cold, rain kept on splattering on my face, and I accidentally step on puddles from time to time.

I had an enjoyable run! What an experience. One of the things that made running fun is that you have the opportunity to test your endurance and determination. Even though you are already tired, you keep on telling your brain to make your feet to run.

Crossing the finish line is such a rewarding experience!

taken after I crossed the finish line – red and wet!

I finished the run in 24 minutes. Out of 545 runners I finished in the 145th place (overall) and ranked 21st in my age division. There is a lot of room for improvement.

Tired yet Happy!

I took a photo of myself before leaving the venue. I was so hungry then. 🙂

 

(some photos courtesy of Unilab RunRio 2012)

 

About Audrey

I am not a typical “girl-next-door”, But I am striving to be a woman of valor. I cannot turn the heads of many people, But I can touch their lives and still be humble. To please my Creator, that is my main goal, To let Him mold me, for me to fit in my role. My other wish is to have a pure soul, And to have a zealous heart like a burning coal. Strength and honor must be my clothing, Purity and honesty, for me is an important thing. To be a woman of principles, that’s what I’m preparing, To make God proud of me as I keep on dazzling. I may not be as perfect as what I want to be, A soldier in the battle that is what I can see. I’ll keep on fighting to solve life’s mystery, To win the battle is the best reward for me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Run in the Rain

  1. Angel says:

    Mam ang ganda nyo po! Skimpy shorts rock!!

  2. Eva says:

    Hi Miss Audrey, himala nakakapag-shorty shorts ka na! Winner!

Leave a Reply

