Love’s Weirdness

302529_350600025029688_325606592_n

When I was younger, I read a number of books by Dr. Seuss but I did not realize the depth of this quote until Patty Laurel (now Patty Laurel-Filart) used said quote as part of her wedding vow.

I was asked a number of times “What is love?” I would always smile and answer “Read 1 Corinthians 13” . They find me a little weird…

One of the movies where I cried used a part of that Bible chapter. Here’s a clip from “A Walk to Remember”

Somebody once told me “I never get jealous”. When I asked why, he told me, “Because being jealous is selfish. If you love a person, you want the best for her (or him) and want her (or him) to be happy.” I smiled as I was enlightened by said statement. I witnessed a lot of failed relationships because of ‘jealousy’. If only people would try to practice the principle of love in their friendship, relationship, or marriage, it will save them a lot of heartaches.

Each of us is hoping that someday, we could find someone whose weirdness is compatible with ours and be joined in mutual weirdness (as how Dr. Seuss worded it).

Real love might be really a little weird because instead of thinking of yourself first, you need to think of the other person. The way of give and not the way of get.

Whether you found ‘the one’ or still waiting for ‘the one’, it is important to practice the undying principles of love.

Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, is not puffed up; does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil; does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

Love never fails. But whether there are prophecies, they will fail; whether there are tongues, they will cease; whether there is knowledge, it will vanish away. For we know in part and we prophesy in part. But when that which is perfect has come, then that which is in part will be done away.

When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child; but when I became a man, I put away childish things. For now we see in a mirror, dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part, but then I shall know just as I also am known.

And now abide faith, hope, love, these three; but the greatest of these is love.

images

photos taken from google images

About Audrey

I am not a typical “girl-next-door”, But I am striving to be a woman of valor. I cannot turn the heads of many people, But I can touch their lives and still be humble. To please my Creator, that is my main goal, To let Him mold me, for me to fit in my role. My other wish is to have a pure soul, And to have a zealous heart like a burning coal. Strength and honor must be my clothing, Purity and honesty, for me is an important thing. To be a woman of principles, that’s what I’m preparing, To make God proud of me as I keep on dazzling. I may not be as perfect as what I want to be, A soldier in the battle that is what I can see. I’ll keep on fighting to solve life’s mystery, To win the battle is the best reward for me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Love’s Weirdness

  1. ❤ wonderful blog ma'am Audrey =)

Leave a Reply

