Simple Food Pleasure

This is such a nice vacation for me where I just stayed home (most of the time).  I used my time to cook and prepare dishes and desserts for the family. Of course, during working days, I’d rather drop by a store and buy rather than exerting effort and energy to make it. However, whenever I have the time, I prefer doing it by myself – starting from scratch. Though it might be quite tiring, it find it rewarding especially when people appreciates the food that I prepared.

Today, I would like to share with you some of the food that I prepared this week-long vacation.

Creamy Tuna Carbonara

second carboone carbonara

I prefer white sauce for pasta compared to red sauce – and carbonara is one of my favorites. When I was a little girl I remembered that there was a time that I asked my mom to book our plane tickets via Grand-Air (naabutan nyo pa ba yun?) When my mom asked why I prefer Grand-Air compared to other airlines, without any hesitation I answered: “The carbonara that they serve during flights is sooooo delicious!” (Pagkain lang ang naging pamantayan sa pagpili ng airlines! Hahaha!)

The same goes whenever we go to restaurants. Whenever I order pasta, my brothers would likely guess (or memorized) that I will order carbonara.

That justifies why this is the first dish that I cooked this vacation. 🙂

Seven Wonders

gulayseven wonders

I call this dish seven wonders because I mixed seven kinds of vegetables. I like eating veggies (except radish). Then I mixed them with creamy-milky sauce. 🙂 This vegetable dish is healthy and yummy!

Whole Wheat Thin Crust Pizza

pizzathincrust

Pizza is one of our favorite snacks/light meals. In order to make it healthier, I used whole wheat flour for the crust. I made it thin to make it crunchy 🙂 I cooked the beef then arranged it together with the rest of the fresh vegetables and cheese!

Kalabasa Leche Flan

flanlecheflan

My brothers are not that fond of eating squash. Although I noticed that they like eating leche flan. So I thought of integrating the two and make the squash taste like leche flan. The kalabasa leche flan became an instant hit in the family! 🙂

Brownies

brownies

My brother has been craving for brownies. Finally, I gave in and baked some gooey brownies with melted chocolate in the middle. Sweet tooth that I am, I also ate couple of slices. Yum!

Lavosh

lavosh

I also made my own version of Lavosh (Armenian flat bread). It is crunchy and you could taste the butter in every bite plus I sprinkled sesame seed to give it a twist. It is a healthy and fun snack for everybody.

Whole Wheat Apple Pie

wholeslice

If I only have my way, I prefer eating whole wheat bread than the white ones. Hence, I used whole wheat flour to make the crust of the apple pie. I used fresh apples and cinnamon to give the apple pie a mouthwatering taste in every bite.

Chocolate Moist Cake

chocolate cakecake

I baked this cake but didn’t put any leavening agent in it. Instead, I made it soft, moist, and gooey. The cake itself is not that sweet to compensate to the sweet melted chocolate on top.

*****************************************************

my collage

I had an enjoyable time cooking and baking for the family. I hope that I could do this more often (not just during vacation).

About Audrey

I am not a typical “girl-next-door”, But I am striving to be a woman of valor. I cannot turn the heads of many people, But I can touch their lives and still be humble. To please my Creator, that is my main goal, To let Him mold me, for me to fit in my role. My other wish is to have a pure soul, And to have a zealous heart like a burning coal. Strength and honor must be my clothing, Purity and honesty, for me is an important thing. To be a woman of principles, that’s what I’m preparing, To make God proud of me as I keep on dazzling. I may not be as perfect as what I want to be, A soldier in the battle that is what I can see. I’ll keep on fighting to solve life’s mystery, To win the battle is the best reward for me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Simple Food Pleasure

  1. I found this site and thought you might find some of these dishes worth a try – http://www.pinaycookingcorner.com/2011/07/totsong-isda-fish-with-black-beans-and.html. This particular one is a fishy Filipino dish but there are lots more of recipes there.. Yummmy! – prakash

Leave a Reply

