Flashback – Joy of Teaching!!!

My previous blog post entitled “Date a Girl Who Teaches” earned a number of queries, comments, and suggestions. One of the suggestions is to post more entries about teaching.

As I was browsing through my files, I saw some of the articles that I wrote few years back about my experiences as a teacher. Join me as I reminisce some of the most unforgettable moment of being a teacher.

Recreational Time

August 1, 2009

Last week, I asked my grade 4 students to bring some of their toys for our recreational activity in English. Before the end of the period, a number of students approached me with their molded clays. They said “Teacher Audrey, we did this for a loooong time and we want to give it to you. Thank you for teaching us!”.

clay moldings from my students

clay moldings from my students

Then one of my male students told me that before, he hates English to the point of almost failing the subject. But now, he is already enjoying the subject, he even told me that his mom was really happy when he showed her his quiz number 3 with a perfect score!

Through the Eyes of a Child

January 13, 2010

googleimages

googleimages

One of the blessings of being a teacher is that you got the opportunity to learn from your students. I integrated values (recognizing our blessings) in one of our topics in English. As an activity, I asked my students to write an article about the blessings that they received and write down their wish/prayer. I told them that since we are in a materialistic world, just for this time, let us confine ourselves in the immaterial/intangible blessings that we received. A number of my students had a difficulty thinking of what kind of blessing to write down. I am proud of the output of that activity because everybody did a good job. But when one of my students read his article, I was touched. I was able to have a glimpse of his selfless attitude and child-like heart. This student of mine lost his father few weeks ago. As he read his article in front of the class, he said: “I am very thankful that God gave us life and He supplies our needs. I am very thankful for the time that I was able to spend time with my Dad. As we start the year 2010, I know that it will be a happy year for me and my family even though Dad is no longer around. God is good and He will take care of us. He will provide our needs. My only prayer is that God would help my Mom to move on. I know that it will be difficult but I know that only God can do it.”

Strength After Losing a Mother

January 3, 2011

As a project, I asked them to create something out of recycled materials . They have to select a theme for it then present it in front of the class. I am amazed how creative they are! But somehow, one presentation caught my attention. This student presented a painting in an illustration board with some used crepe paper on it. It was a drawing of a mother with her son. Below is the transcript of his explanation:

 “The theme of my project is about how losing a mother has changed the way I see the world. It somehow changed me as an individual. Although I must admit that it is quite difficult to forget all the pain and all the anguish that I am feeling – longing for my mother. My mother passed away September 30, 2002 at the age of 39, but it feels like it was yesterday. I was only 4 years old when her disease took her from us. It’s true what they say, you can never really understand what it’s like until it happens to you. Although I was so young and innocent back then, my world seemed fall apart when I lost my mother. My mother carried me for nine months, gave birth to me, was the first sight I ever set my eyes upon, fed me when I was hungry, got no sleep for months when I woke her up crying at night, changed my diapers, watched me smile when I recognized her face, she was there when I first started to crawl, take my first steps, and say my first word. She was always there for me. Now that she’s gone,  my memories with her warms my heart. All the memories that I have in the first four years of my life, she is always there. She was a strong, loving mother. I always knew that she was on my side, would do anything for me and for my siblings. Although she was not allowed to see me grow up, I know that she contributed a lot on how I would develop as an individual.”

Losing a mother at such young age is extremely hard and no one can seem to relate to such a horrible thing – watching your mother die in front of your eyes. When she finally took her final breath, my sister and brother were there holding her hand. The room fell silent, we were so helpless, and all we can do is to cry. When somebody would ask me, “How do you deal with the loss of a mother?” One can only begin to speak from experience. I will never forget my mother. I will never forget the way she smelled, or the way she laughed. As a human being, you deal with everyday issues, some of those issues/problems may not be as hard as losing your own beloved mother. Yes, we can move on, and continue on our lives. But as for me. As for me, I am continuing with my life but I will always carry a picture of my mother in my  heart. It will continue to motivate me to get up in the morning, to smile more often, and to really count my blessings.

We will never know what will happen tomorrow. But at least you know that while you are here, you made the best of whatever life threw at your feet. Life was never meant to be an easy ride, but as long as you really strive to make the best out of it, you really can continue to go on with your life.”

the project

the project

About Audrey

I am not a typical “girl-next-door”, But I am striving to be a woman of valor. I cannot turn the heads of many people, But I can touch their lives and still be humble. To please my Creator, that is my main goal, To let Him mold me, for me to fit in my role. My other wish is to have a pure soul, And to have a zealous heart like a burning coal. Strength and honor must be my clothing, Purity and honesty, for me is an important thing. To be a woman of principles, that’s what I’m preparing, To make God proud of me as I keep on dazzling. I may not be as perfect as what I want to be, A soldier in the battle that is what I can see. I’ll keep on fighting to solve life’s mystery, To win the battle is the best reward for me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Flashback – Joy of Teaching!!!

  1. I comment whenever I especially enjoy a article on a site or I have
    something to contribute to the conversation. Usually it’s a result of
    the sincerness communicated in the article I browsed.
    And on this article Flashback – Joy of Teaching!!! | Sentiments from the
    Heart. I was actually excited enough to drop a thought 😉
    I do have 2 questions for you if you tend not to mind.

    Could it be just me or does it seem like a few of the comments come
    across as if they are coming from brain dead visitors?
    😛 And, if you are writing on additional places, I would like to
    keep up with you. Could you list every one of all your public sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?.
    facebook page, how to get likes on facebook – http://www.watchindia.info/ -, attract more Admirers with facebook
    If you wish to get facebook likes be sure to keep your facebook profile up to date.

    One way to buy likes should be to have celebrities attract a new
    publish to suit your needs.

Leave a Reply

