Dare to be Better!

When was the last time that you dared to be better?

We all have different goals in life, different lives to live, and different ambitions to pursue. No matter what the differences are, the determination to be better should be present and the zeal to improve must be developed.

Your quest to be better might be as diminutive as “I want a better hairstyle” or can be as big as “I want to become a better person”, “I want a better life!”

Here are some tips that was handed to me by family, friends, and people that I deeply respect. Hope that you’ll also find it helpful!

1. Compare yourself to the right standards… not to the norm.

post-grant-standards1

Whenever we do something wrong it is easy to have an alibi of comparing ourselves with other people whom we think are worse than us. I remembered committing that mistake when I was in elementary. Whenever my parents would ask me about the results of my exams (and I know that I didn’t perform well), I would automatically say, “I got a higher score than more than half of the class! Dami ngang bumagsak! Buti nalang ako pasado! ” (palusot mode). My parents would tell me “Don’t compare yourself to other people, compare yourself to the standard.” Since then, whenever I’ll get the result of my quizzes or examinations, I would look at it and see how far I was from having a perfect score. This made me strive harder in my studies.

2. Compete with yourself, not with other people.

534335_184523411693413_1144783249_n

If you compare yourself with other people you’ll either feel insecure or your might be boastful. Insecure because you’ll feel that others are more beautiful/handsome than you, more intelligent than you, or far better than you. On the other hand you might also feel boastful since you’ll think that you’re a lot better than other people – you have work, or if you’re a student, at least you don’t have a failing grade.

If your motivation to be better is to topple down the other person, then you don’t have the right perspective. Instead of becoming better for yourself, you are just feeding that selfish ego inside you. Do it with the right frame of mind. Why not strive to become a better person today than you were yesterday and strive to be a better person tomorrow than who you are today.

3. Surround yourself with positive people – choose your circle of friends.

Rodéate-de-personas-positivas

It is true that birds with the same feathers flock together. Even the Bible attests to that – “Bad company corrupts good character (1 Corinthians 15:33)” Negative people usually drains our energy and we feel that it is really taxing to talk to them and to listen to their rants. However, after talking to positive people, it seems like life is so nice! Their positivity is contagious! You see every good opportunities and also the goodness in other people. The energy of the people that you surround yourself with (may it be positive or negative) would eventually rub off on you. Choose your friends wisely!

4. Use the success stories of others as your inspiration.

Success520x383Q50

When I was younger, my Dad would ask me to read autobiographies and biographies of successful people (Churchill, Roosevelt, Kennedy, etc.). I was told that I could get nuggets of wisdom from these people.

Talking with the elderly is also a wonderful experience. They willingly hand down their stories and share pieces of wisdom that is worth years of experience.

5. Strive to be the best person that you can be.

When you reach the top keep climbing

It is easy to settle for mediocrity. It is easier to say “Pwede na yan…” than striving for the best. Excellence is a way of life. If we train ourselves to excel in everything that we do – no matter how big or how little it is, such character will be implanted in our system. Thus, striving for excellence will already be a way of life.

6. Share what you have.

download

The more you share what you have, the more eagerness you’ll have to become better. If you keep your skills, talents, and intellect to yourself, eventually, it will diminish. However, if you share it with others, it will grow and develop. It might be the unspoken law of nature – or maybe not… It was said, “to whom much is given, much is required”. So better share what you have and reap the rewards of your goodwill.

7. Ask God for help.

images

There is no other being who wants the best for us than our Creator. He knows us better than we know ourselves. He knows our strengths and weaknesses. Most of all, He loves us more than any other being could ever love us.

In prayer, ask Him to mold you according to His will and purpose. He would show you the path and guide you every step of the way.

Life is too short to be spent in negativity and remorse. Why not adopt a positive way of life and strive to become the best person that you can be.

Dare to be better!

photos from googleimages

About Audrey

I am not a typical “girl-next-door”, But I am striving to be a woman of valor. I cannot turn the heads of many people, But I can touch their lives and still be humble. To please my Creator, that is my main goal, To let Him mold me, for me to fit in my role. My other wish is to have a pure soul, And to have a zealous heart like a burning coal. Strength and honor must be my clothing, Purity and honesty, for me is an important thing. To be a woman of principles, that’s what I’m preparing, To make God proud of me as I keep on dazzling. I may not be as perfect as what I want to be, A soldier in the battle that is what I can see. I’ll keep on fighting to solve life’s mystery, To win the battle is the best reward for me!
This entry was posted in Essays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dare to be Better!

  1. …a few days ago 🙂

  2. Very nice, Ate Audrey.:)

    I started using WP and I wonder, if I post a blog, is it automatically posted on the “feed” of others?

Leave a Reply

