Alma Mater Hymn

Do you remember the time when your teacher asked you to memorize the Alma Mater Hymn? After memorizing it, you’re already happy and ready to write or recite the lyrics only to find out that your teacher would make you sing it in front of the class for a graded recitation!!!

Oh yeah, I had the same dilemma when I was still in the University. Although that experience slept into the back portion of my memory for years after I graduated. I became busy with a lot of things. Until one day, my brother (who is studying in the same University where I studied) asked me to help him sing the Alma Mater Hymn since they need to memorize it for their graded recitation. Hahaha!

He asked me to sing it while he records it in his phone so he could share it with his classmates who is also learning the hymn.

Few weeks ago, I checked my facebook account and my mother tagged me in one of the videos in youtube. When I watched it, I realized that the owner of the voice in the background was actually me! I suddenly reminisce my life few years ago while I was still a student. Suddenly, each of the words in the Alma Mater Hymn became meaningful!

taken during the Gawad Parangal way back March 2009

taken during the Gawad Parangal way back March 2009

My Graduation Picture!

My Graduation Picture!

 

About Audrey

I am not a typical “girl-next-door”, But I am striving to be a woman of valor. I cannot turn the heads of many people, But I can touch their lives and still be humble. To please my Creator, that is my main goal, To let Him mold me, for me to fit in my role. My other wish is to have a pure soul, And to have a zealous heart like a burning coal. Strength and honor must be my clothing, Purity and honesty, for me is an important thing. To be a woman of principles, that’s what I’m preparing, To make God proud of me as I keep on dazzling. I may not be as perfect as what I want to be, A soldier in the battle that is what I can see. I’ll keep on fighting to solve life’s mystery, To win the battle is the best reward for me!
This entry was posted in Essays and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Alma Mater Hymn

  1. Bryan says:

    Do I ever!! I graduated with a B.A. in Music with a Voice Primary. I had to get up in front of 1100 (undergrad and grad) students x 4 or 5 (people/person graduating ) and sing my university’s alma mater. *YIKES* The was the biggest crowed I have ever sang in front of, glad I was able to pull it off.

Leave a Reply

