Seven Reminders

As I reflect about life, I can’t help but to feel grateful to God for giving me the right people who helped and guided me to become who I am today. I just want to share some reminders to the younger readers of this blog:

1. CHOOSE YOUR FRIENDS

As a child, my parents used to tell me that I should choose my friends wisely. There is truth in the saying “Tell me who your friends are and I’ll tell you who you are.” Your friends could lead you in the right path at the same time, wrong friends could lead you astray.

2. LOVE AND RESPECT YOUR PARENTS

Our parents are our steward in this world. We need to love and respect them for the unconditional love that they are giving us. Honor them.

3. DON’T TRY TO GROW OLD SO FAST

I believe that it is important for us to experience each of life’s stages. Don’t try to skip one stage in order to proceed to the other because if you do that, you are rubbing yourself from the lessons that each experience will teach you. You will only have one life, so make the most out of it.

4. FINISH YOUR STUDIES

I never encountered a parent who would not like his/her child to finish his/her studies. I’m glad that gone were the days when women were not allowed to study because of the reasoning that they will only stay at home.

To all the youths, do something for yourself and for your parents. Finish your studies. If you can, graduate with honors. It will benefit you in the long run.

5. GET A DECENT JOB

After finishing your studies, it is important for you to experience having a decent job. The experience that you’ll have at work is different from your school life. It is such a rewarding experience to receive your own paycheck. It is such a delight to have your own money.

6. GIVE BACK TO YOUR FAMILY

After you get a decent job, it would be nice to give back to your family. Of course, it is not your responsibility to do that. However, after all the sacrifices that they did for you to become who you are at the moment, it is just but fair and noble to share your blessings to them.

I overheard my mom talking to one of her friends saying “No matter what it is or what the amount is, it is such a wonderful feeling whenever my children would share the fruit of their labor with me.”

7. ANCHOR YOUR LIFE TO GOD

No matter what you do, it is important to have God in your life. In all your ways, acknowledge Him. People will come and go. But as long as you cling on Him, He will never leave you nor forsake you. In fact, He will direct your path and help you live your life to the fullest.

About Audrey

I am not a typical “girl-next-door”, But I am striving to be a woman of valor. I cannot turn the heads of many people, But I can touch their lives and still be humble. To please my Creator, that is my main goal, To let Him mold me, for me to fit in my role. My other wish is to have a pure soul, And to have a zealous heart like a burning coal. Strength and honor must be my clothing, Purity and honesty, for me is an important thing. To be a woman of principles, that’s what I’m preparing, To make God proud of me as I keep on dazzling. I may not be as perfect as what I want to be, A soldier in the battle that is what I can see. I’ll keep on fighting to solve life’s mystery, To win the battle is the best reward for me!
This entry was posted in Essays, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seven Reminders

  1. ariel1219 says:

    Reblogged this on Being Christian and Young and commented:
    I thought that this was amazing and think that this person is very wise. I hope you agree. I recommend that you read it.

Leave a Reply

