Da Vinci the Genius

“Mona Lisa, Monalisa, men have named you
You’re so like the lady with the mystic smile
Is it only ’cause you’re lonely, they have blamed you
For that Monalisa strangeness in your smile?”

I grew up hearing my Dad singing that Nat King Cole song. As a child, I thought that Monalisa is as beautiful as Cinderella, Snow White, or Princess Aurora (Disney Princesses talaga ang peg) She must be really beautiful to be able to have a song about her. Having this expectation in mind, you could just imagine my childish reaction when I saw the painting of her. I asked myself, “What is so special about her? She just looked like a normal woman?” Pwede din naman palang magka-Audrey Ruth painting craze! Hahaha!

When I grew up and took up Humanities, I finally understand the fuss over that painting. I looked at that painting once again and looked at her eyes, the contour of her cheeks, and her smile. Her eyes and her smile both exudes mystery. I get to think way beyond the superficial. (Ang ganda pala talaga nung painting na yun!) I asked myself what was going on her mind? Her emotion was so mysterious! Why did she smile like that? Why does her eyes talk in a way that you could not fully comprehend?

Mona_Lisa,_by_Leonardo_da_Vinci,_from_C2RMF_retouched

A lot of people did their own interpretations about the painting. However, no one would have fully known the mystery behind said painting other than the painter himself – Leonardo da Vinci.

Leonardo da Vinci was an Italian Renaissance Polymath. He was a painter, sculptor, engineer, architect, mathematician, musician, philosopher, botanist, geologist, inventor, etc. (Pinakyaw na nya lahat!). In short, he is a genius!

I thought that I would just know more about his work through books or if I travel to Italy or France (wish ko lang!). So when I found out about that the Da Vinci Exhibit finally visited the Philippines, I got excited!

238_davinci_genius_exhibit

Here’s an excerpt from Da Vinci the Genius plus some of the pictures that I took when we visited the Da Vinci exhibit in the Mind Museum:

With the assistance of Il Genio di Leonardo da Vinci Museo (Italy) and Pascal Cotte of Lumiere Technology (France) this exhibition brings to life the genius of Leonardo as an inventor, artist, scientist, anatomist, engineer, architect, sculptor and philosopher.onesixWorking from Leonardo’s codices, Italian Artisans have faithfully crafted interactive and life-size machine inventions. These works include the first concepts of a car, bicycle, helicopter, glider, parachute, SCUBA, submarine, military tank and ideal city to name a few. 

fivefour

In addition the exhibit moves far beyond machine inventions alone, featuring facsimiles of Leonardo’s most famous codices, large interactive touch screens anatomical studies, Anghiari battle drawings and Renaissance art. 

twoA recent addition is the high definition recreation of The Last Supper at actual size (29 x 14.5ft) an impressive display that compliments the existing HD animations explaining the Sforza Horse, Mona Lisa and Vitruvian Man. 

eightDa Vinci – The Genius also includes the world exclusive Secrets of Mona Lisa – an analysis of the iconic painting, conducted at the Louvre Museum by renowned scientific engineer, examiner and photographer of fine art, Pascal Cotte. 

seventhreeSuitable for all ages, this amazing exhibition provides a fascinating insight into not only the mind of a genius; but also into the fundamental scientific and artistic principles that he discovered. Da Vinci – The Genius is an inspiration for the whole family.

About Audrey

I am not a typical “girl-next-door”, But I am striving to be a woman of valor. I cannot turn the heads of many people, But I can touch their lives and still be humble. To please my Creator, that is my main goal, To let Him mold me, for me to fit in my role. My other wish is to have a pure soul, And to have a zealous heart like a burning coal. Strength and honor must be my clothing, Purity and honesty, for me is an important thing. To be a woman of principles, that’s what I’m preparing, To make God proud of me as I keep on dazzling. I may not be as perfect as what I want to be, A soldier in the battle that is what I can see. I’ll keep on fighting to solve life’s mystery, To win the battle is the best reward for me!
This entry was posted in Adventure, Essays, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Da Vinci the Genius

  1. Pingback: Leonardo of Vinci’s Last Day (at The Mind Museum) | Makko's Adventures

  2. MIHAIL says:

    Leonardo will always attract seekers!
    When I was in Paris 2005, I could not visit the Louvre. But the Louvre came with sound recording equipment, which were kindly provided by the French. Found the “Mona Lisa” and began recording background sound created numerous visitors who came to see the masterpiece. The logic was simple. Allow myself to be noted that any masterpiece has the property of highly structured information field. Man – this is also, at its basis, the field structure. There is a contact of two field structures – human and masterpiece. This is probably the power of art. The sounds published the people who were in the masterpiece (talk, the shuffling of feet, etc.) were very valuable to me, they were correlated associated with him. Subjecting these records complicated transformation process, I managed to get some incredible sound. Many are led into shock – these sounds there is a clear identification with the portrait of “Mona Lisa.” Similar records I’ve made in the famous sculpture of Venus. As a result, based on these records, I had three works – “Knowledge”, “Flow” and “Communication”.

    MONA LISA_VENUS(Опыт работы с шедеврами) .avi
    Structure of presented video: sound background at Mona Lisa – result of transformational processing of a background, a sound background at Venus – result of transformational processing of a background, a work “Knowledge” fragment (the transformed sounds are used only).
    Full details can be found on my master class
    Academia of Music, Kishinev MOLDOVA http://studiomusicnew.blogspot.com
    ( Sorry, Google translation)

    • Audrey says:

      Hi Mihail!
      Wow! Thank you for your comment! It is very informative! One of my dreams is to travel to France, Paris or Italy – the thing that you already did!
      Thank you for sharing those wonderful insights! Thanks for dropping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

